[Forwarding from the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA).  --Peter Suber.]

On behalf of OASPA I would like to share the announcement below:


18 September 2009, The Hague: The Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA) announced the results of its first election at the 1st Conference on Open Access Scholarly Publishing last week.

Board members and officers include: Caroline Sutton, Co-Action Publishing (President); Saskia Franken, Utrecht University Library/Igitur (Secretary); David Prosser, SPARC Europe (Treasurer), Bo-Christer Bjork, Electronic Journal of Information Technology in Construction; Matt Cockerill, BioMed=A0 Central; Gunther Eysenbach, Journal of Medical Internet Research (JMIR); Mark Patterson, PLoS; Paul Peters, Hindawi Publishing Corporation; David Solomon, Medical Education Online (MEO).

Over the coming months OASPA will be establishing sub-groups to address the situation of different publisher groups and regions, as well as sub-committees to move forward on specific issues together with the broader scholarly communications community.

Caroline Sutton, PhD
Co-Action Publishing